Hannibal Book 2: The Silence Of The Lambs

The Silence of the Lambs book cover

The Silence of the Lambs is the second series written by Thomas Harris and published in 1988. It is the sequel of the Red Dragon as they both feature the main character and antagonist, Dr. Hannibal Lecter but this time with Clarice Starling, another FBI agent.

Book Details

The Silence of the Lambs is available on Amazon in both hardbacks and paperbacks print format.

The book has been published by St Martin’s Griffin; 1st edition and is 384 pages long.

It has dimensions of 4.2 x 1 x 6.5 inches and weighs 7.2 ounces.

It is a mixture of horror, thriller, suspense and mystery.


A serial killer nicknamed “Buffalo Bill” is now striking and is wanted by the FBI. His aim is kidnapping overweight women, starving them for a couple of days before killing and skinning them, then throwing the remains in a nearby river.

Jack Crawford has asked agent Clarice Starling to profile all serial killers and present the questionnaire to the forensic psychiatrist Hannibal Lecter who has now been sentenced in a mental institution. His aim is to actually get the help of Lecter in tracing “Buffalo Bill”. Lecter is reluctant to offer his help but finally gives in on condition that Starling would tell him all about her childhood.

The daughter of the senator becomes a victim of the serial killer. She should be saved within three days before the killer could murder her. The FBI presents a deal to Lecter that he reveals the identity and whereabouts of “Buffalo Bill” and he would be transferred from the mental asylum. He however doubts the genuineness of the offer and rejects. He later agrees when the asylum’s administrator gives him another offer.

Will the serial killer be found? Would he have killed the senator’s daughter already?

The Silence of the Lambs has a very fascinating narration. The book is full of suspense and modern literature that makes it worth the purchase. It is not a disappointment because it entertains the reader and stimulates anyone intellectually.

View lowest price

About the Author

Thomas Harris is an American writer born on 11th April, 1940. He is known for writing modern literature and suspense series, one being the Hannibal series. He has also written the book, Black Sunday, which was his very first novel.

All of his works have been made into films, the most notable being the multi-Oscar winning The Silence of the Lambs, which became only the third film in Academy Award history to sweep the Oscars in major categories.

Frequently asked questions

Q: Do I have to read the first series before I could understand the plot of this book?

A: No, you don’t have to. Though the series is the sequel of the Red Dragon, the story differs a bit. However, the personality of the main antagonist, Dr. Hannibal remains the same. Some characters from the Red Dragon also show up in this book. When you read this book, you will naturally develop the urge to know more about Hannibal, and that is reading the rest of the series.