Hannibal Audio-Book IV: Hannibal Rising

Hannibal Rising Audio-book cover

This audio is based on the last book of the Hannibal series written by Thomas Harris. It is the prequel of the other three books, looking at the childhood life of Hannibal that may have contributed to his personality.

Audio-Book Details

The audio is narrated by Thomas Harris himself.

It was published by Random House Audio and released in 2006.

The audio version is unabridged with a listening length of 7 hours and 3 minutes.


The Lecter’s flee from their home during the World War II. They find shelter in their lodge but it is bombed three years later by a German troop. The only survivors are Hannibal and his sister, Mischa who is taken captive and killed.

Hannibal returns to their initial home and finds out that it had been turned into an orphanage. He stays there as an orphan but is picked by his uncle to live with him and his wife, Lady Murasaki.

Lady Murasaki helps Hannibal to heal from his psychological trauma of witnessing the death of his family. He is then send to school to study medicine.

The very first time he committed murder and portrayed cannibalistic character was when he attacked, beheaded and ate the cheeks of a butcher who had insulted his aunt.

This audio-book is quite short but straight to the point. After following the story of Dr. Hannibal Lecter from the first series, any avid fan will want to know what drives his personality.

View lowest price.